At Japan Museum SieboldHuis a vast array of exotic objects painstakingly collected by Philipp Franz von Siebold during his stay in Japan (1823-1829) are yours to discover in the stately Dutch residence that once was his home.
The Panorama room is being refurbished and will be closed until september.
From 1832 to 1845 this striking canal side building was occupied by Philipp Franz von Siebold. Here, he introduced his impressive collection of Japanese prints, lacquerware, ceramics, fossils, herbaria, stuffed animals, coins, textiles, maps and hundreds of other treasures to the public. Siebold also employed artists to capture animals and objects on paper. More than 150 years later, in 2005 this building became Japan Museum SieboldHuis.
In addition to the permanent collection, there are temporary exhibitions throughout the year on a wide range of subjects.